The Project Field

I started my day with a walk to down to the project field, our location for Wednesday night’s Fireside event. Debs was down there already, feeding the chickens and the two Tamworth pigs with the help of some enthusiastic young campers; a daily event at the campsite. It made me remember our annual two week family holiday down here in August when I was little; I wonder how many of these children’s memories will be recorded on the postcards around the site.

I spent the rest of the morning finishing my preparations for this afternoon’s writing workshop; cutting out squares of canvas for people to use, making copies of Adrian Henri’s poem ‘Scotland’, and walking down the coastpath to the village to buy milk and proper tea!

postcards 047

The rain held out long enough for Debs to put a notice out about my writing workshop, and we even had a bit of sunshine over lunch.  I spent some more time writing, until 2pm when I ventured out between showers to meet my writers for the workshop. More about this in another post.

I enjoyed the workshop so much, and loved spending a couple of hours writing with such a great group of people. It inspired me to spend some more time with my own writing, so after a couple of hours reading and hiding from the weather (the storm is getting closer), I curled up with a pen and paper.  Why can’t all afternoons be like this?